Delegates Earn Honors at State Youth in Government Conference

March 31, 2014

Campus News

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Owl delegates distinguished themselves at the Tennessee YMCA Youth in Government Conference at the State Capitol March 27-30, coming away with impressive honors, including Outstanding Bill, Outstanding Statesman, five officer positions for next year’s conference, and two delegate positions for the national conference this summer. Ms. Jenny Fernandez, instructor in Spanish, and Mr. Davie Smith, instructor in history, accompanied 33 students to the Nashville conference.

“To have all five of our delegates running for office elected and to have two of our students selected for the national conference is remarkable,” Ms. Jenny Fernandez, instructor in Spanish, said. “Mr. Smith and I are very proud of all the delegates’ hard work and achievements this year. The awards that MUS received were spread amongst our delegation and highlight the high caliber of our students’ performance.”

About 400 high school students participated in the conference, designed to offer students a hands-on experience with state government by serving as senators and representatives, justices and lawyers, department commissioners and lobbyists, and press corps members.

The delegates were seniors Shivam Bhakta, Cole Ettingoff, Salman Haque, Davis Howe, Ahmed Latif, Aditya Shah; juniors Andrew Elsakr, Kamar Mack, Jason Stein; sophomores Reed Barnes, Griffin Ford, Gabe Hanna, Will Harwell, Ethan Johnston, Matt Kruczek, Austin Lacy, Jack Lewis, Alex Mansour, Saatvik Mohan, Jackson Pacheco, Michael Swift, Theo Wayt, Eli Weinberg, Connor Whitson; freshmen Greg Dotson, Brooks Eikner, David Graber, Charlie Jones, Kanha Mishra, Micah Murdock, Joey Rodriguez, Timothy White, and Ray Zhou.

The following students earned special honors:

Selected as delegates to the YMCA Youth Conference on National Affairs in North Carolina June 28-July 3 (top 11 out of 400 delegates were selected):

Cole Ettingoff (second year being selected) and Aditya Shah

 Outstanding Statesperson: Kamar Mack

Outstanding Bill: Andrew Elsakr and Jason Stein


Elected as officers to serve in 2015 YMCA Youth in Government Conference:

Saatvik Mohan (Blue Senate Floor Leader)

Jason Stein (Senate Sergeant at Arms)

Alex Mansour (Blue Speaker Pro Tempore of the House)

Ahmed Latif (Blue Chief Engrossing Clerk)

Kamar Mack (Red Senate Floor Leader)



Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: