National Honor Society Inducts 42

April 4, 2014


2014 National Honor Society Inductees

2014 National Honor Society Inductees

During a solemn, traditional ceremony in chapel, members of the MUS Chapter of the National Honor Society called out the names of 42 inductees, who made their way to the front of the chapel to receive their certificates. For many – if they had not spotted family members in the audience – the announcement came as a surprise.

When junior Max Meyer heard his name, his joy was mixed with a sense of relief. Like a good number of his fellow students, Max had been anxious about whether or not he would be inducted into the society. His father, Mr. Greg Meyer ’79, would not reveal if he had received a letter informing him about the honor.

Max and Greg Meyer

Max and Greg Meyer

“I was not in the National Honor Society, but I remembered the ceremony, and I kept the secret,” Greg Meyer said.

To be considered for membership, juniors and seniors must have at least a 3.75 cumulative weighted GPA and demonstrate strong scholarship, character, leadership, and service while at MUS. A selection committee chooses honorees based on activity forms and leadership/service questionnaires prepared by the candidates as well as faculty recommendations and evaluations.

During the April 4 ceremony, four seniors spoke about the characteristics that define members of the National Honor Society. Garret Sullivan delivered his thoughts on scholarship, Hayden Combs on leadership, Josh Hawkins on character, and Tejvir Vaghela on service. Before their speeches each lit a candle held in a wooden candlestick created by students in Mr. Jim Buchman’s sculpture classes.

Afterward, honor society members and their families enjoyed a reception in the Dining Hall. The Meyer family, including Max’s mother, Mrs. Elise Meyer, and grandparents Mrs. Jan Meyer and Dr. and Mrs. Avron Slutsky, were among them, celebrating this accomplishment. Max, for his part, was grateful.

“After worrying for weeks because my dad wouldn’t tell me if I had been selected, I was extremely humbled to receive this great honor,” Max said. “The National Honor Society focuses on well-rounded young men, which is exactly what MUS is producing. The program here has helped develop my character through leadership, service, and scholarship.”

Here are the names of this year’s inductees, followed by the names of members inducted last year. (For more photos from the event, visit the online Photo Gallery.)


Michael Birnbaum

Ben Blackmon

Andrew Crosby

Connor Dowling

Drew Evans

Travis Floyd

Matthew Gayoso

Lee Jennings


Alex Carruthers

Jack Christenbury

Baty Daniel

Nick DiMento

Andrew Elsakr

Will Farnsworth

Jack Gray

Xavier Greer

Jeff Guenther

Ted Helmhout

Michael Jacobs

Brad Jarratt

Ahmed Latif

Stewart Love

Nicholas Manley

Hayden Meacham

William Merriman

Max Meyer

Hays Moreland

Jack Mullins

Nevin Naren

Roberto Olvera

Richard Ouyang

Michael Reddoch

Andrew Shelton

Hamid Shirwany

Sherman Tabor

Arnav Thakur

Zach Walker

Zack Whicker

Preston White

Griffin Wilson

Ty Wolf

Yunhua Zhao

2013 Inductees (seniors)

Shivam Bhakta

David Blankenship

Kameron Bradley

Alec Carro

Hayden Combs

Andrew Counce

Renn Eason

Cal Edge

Jake Eissler

Cole Ettingoff

Sam Fowlkes

Tucker Fox

Chris Galvin

Connor Goodwin

Salman Haque

Reed Harrison

Josh Hawkins

Witt Hawkins

Rashaan Jiles

Tal Keel

William Lamb

Jay Mitchum

Kyle Naes

Ben Ormseth

Samuel Ostrow

Stephen Pacheco

James Prather

Nick Schwartz

James Sexton

Aditya Shah

Walker Sims

Andy Sorensen

Paul Stevenson

Garret Sullivan

Fredrick Thompson

Tejvir Vaghela

Zain Virk

Harrison Williams

Gary Wunderlich

Chase Wyatt


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: