73 Owls Earn AP Scholar Awards

September 22, 2014


The College Board awarded 83 Advanced Placement honors to 73 MUS students taking part in the 2014 Advanced Placement exams. Ten students received the highest honor of National AP Scholar, nine more than last year.

MUS offers 20 Advanced Placement courses designed to reproduce the difficult content of college-level courses and help students learn focused study habits.

The highest possible score of 5 deems the student extremely well qualified in that particular subject area. Of the 366 tests taken by 192 MUS students, 39 percent resulted in the highest mark. The average score of all tests taken by Owls was 3.95; the national average in 2013 was 2.89. More than 92 percent of exams taken by MUS students resulted in a grade of 3 or higher, compared with the national average of about 59 percent. Although college policies vary, most will award credit or advanced placement for scores of 3 or above.

In the Calculus BC exam, all 18 students who took the exam received the highest score. In addition, all students taking AP exams in the following courses earned a 3 or higher: Art History, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science A, English Literature & Composition, European History, French Language & Culture, Latin, Music Theory, Physics B, and Spanish Language & Culture.

AP Scholar Awards

Ten students received the top honor of National AP Scholar, granted to students in the United States who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. The MUS average was 4.83.

Shivam Bhakta ’14

Matthew Gayoso ’14

Salman Haque ’14

William Lamb ’14

Richard Ouyang ’15

Nick Schwartz ’14

Aditya Shah ’14

Garret Sullivan ’14

Zain Virk ’14

Yunhua Zhao ’15

Fifty-two students received AP Scholar with Distinction honors, 20 more than last year. An AP Scholar with Distinction designation indicates the student earned an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. The MUS average was 4.45

Mitchell Apollonio ’15

Shivam Bhakta ’14

Michael Birnbaum ’14

Ben Blackmon ’14

David Blankenship ’14

Kameron Bradley ’14

Alec Carro ’14

Hayden Combs ’14

Baty Daniel ’15

Connor Dowling ’14

Renn Eason ’14

Jacob Eissler ’14

Andrew Elsakr ’15

Cole Ettingoff ’14

Seamus Fitzhenry ’14

Travis Floyd ’14

Chris Galvin ’14

Matthew Gayoso ’14

Connor Goodwin ’14

Salman Haque ’14

Reed Harrison ’14

Josh Hawkins ’14

Witt Hawkins ’14

Jack Hirschman ’15

Davis Howe ’14

Tal Keel ’14

Ashish Kumar ’15

William Lamb ’14

Ahmed Latif ’15

Walker Lee ’15

Leshan Moodley ’14

Nevin Naren ’15

Sam Neyhart ’14

Ben Ormseth ’14

Samuel Ostrow ’14

Richard Ouyang ’15

Stephen Pacheco ’14

Nick Schwartz ’14

Aditya Shah ’14

Azeez Shala ’15

Hamid Shirwany ’15

Walker Sims ’14

Andy Sorensen ’14

Paul Stevenson ’14

Garret Sullivan ’14

Sherman Tabor ’15

Tejvir Vaghela ’14

Zain Virk ’14

Harrison Williams ’14

Griffin Wilson ’15

Yunhua Zhao ’15

Jeffrey Zheng ’15

Eleven students received the AP Scholar with Honor designation, indicating they earned an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. The MUS average was 4.23.

Leo Bjorklund ’14

Alex Carruthers ’15

Josh Douglass ’14

Drew Evans ’14

Jack Gray ’15

Stewart Love ’15

Hayden Meacham ’15

William Merriman ’15

Jay Mitchum ’14

Jack Mullins ’15

Stephen Tsiu ’14

Ten students received the AP Scholar designation, indicating they earned scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. The MUS average was 3.88

Andrew Crosby ’14

Sam Fowlkes ’14

Mike Frymire ’14

Kamar Mack ’15

Dennis Parnell ’14

James Prather ’14

Jackson Roberts ’14

Preston Roberts ’15

Christian Schneiter ’15

Will Wells ’14



Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: