73 Owls Earn AP Scholar Awards

Seventy-three Owls have earned Scholar Awards for their scores on the College Board’s 2014 Advanced Placement exams.

MUS offers 20 Advanced Placement courses designed to reproduce the difficult content of college-level courses and help students learn focused study habits. Many earn college credit for their scores.

The highest possible score of 5 deems the student “extremely well qualified” in that particular subject. At MUS 192 students took 366 tests, earning the highest mark on 39 percent of the exams. The average score of all tests taken by Owls was 3.95. The national average was 2.86. More than 92 percent of all exams taken by MUS students resulted in a grade of 3 or higher, surpassing last year’s national average of 58 percent and last year’s school average of 89 percent.

In the Calculus BC test, all 18 participants earned the top score. In addition all students taking AP exams in the following courses earned a 3 or higher: Art History, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science A, English Literature and Composition, European History, French Language and Culture, Latin, Music Theory, Physics B, and Spanish Language and Culture.

AP Scholar Awards

Ten Owls received the top honor of National AP Scholar, granted to students in the United States who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. MUS average: 4.83

Shivam Bhakta ’14

Matthew Gayoso ’14

Salman Haque ’14

William Lamb ’14

Richard Ouyang ’15

Nick Schwartz ’14

Aditya Shah ’14

Garret Sullivan ’14

Zain Virk ’14

Yunhua Zhao ’15

Fifty-two students received AP Scholar with Distinction honors, indicating they earned an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. MUS average: 4.45

Mitchell Apollonio ’15

Shivam Bhakta ’14

Michael Birnbaum ’14

Ben Blackmon ’14

David Blankenship ’14

Kameron Bradley ’14

Alec Carro ’14

Hayden Combs ’14

Baty Daniel ’15

Connor Dowling ’14

Renn Eason ’14

Jake Eissler ’14

Andrew Elsakr ’15

Cole Ettingoff ’14

Seamus Fitzhenry ’14

Travis Floyd ’14

Chris Galvin ’14

Matthew Gayoso ’14

Connor Goodwin ’14

Salman Haque ’14

Reed Harrison ’14

Josh Hawkins ’14

Witt Hawkins ’14

Jack Hirschman ’15

Davis Howe ’14

Tal Keel ’14

Ashish Kumar ’15

William Lamb ’14

Ahmed Latif ’15

Leshan Moodley ’14

Nevin Naren ’15

Sam Neyhart ’14

Ben Ormseth ’14

Samuel Ostrow ’14

Richard Ouyang ’15

Stephen Pacheco ’14

Nick Schwartz ’14

Aditya Shah ’14

Azeez Shala ’15

Hamid Shirwany ’15

Walker Sims ’14

Andy Sorensen ’14

Paul Stevenson ’14

Garret Sullivan ’14

Sherman Tabor ’15

Tejvir Vaghela ’14

Zain Virk ’14

Harrison Williams ’14

Griffin Wilson ’15

Yunhua Zhao ’15

Jeffrey Zheng ’15

Eleven students received the AP Scholar with Honor designation, indicating they earned an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. MUS average: 4.23

Leo Bjorklund ’14

Alex Carruthers ’15

Josh Douglass ’14

Drew Evans ’14

Jack Gray ’15

Stewart Love ’15

Hayden Meacham ’15

William Merriman ’15

Jay Mitchum ’14

Jack Mullins ’15

Stephen Tsiu ’14

Ten students received the AP Scholar Award designation, indicating they earned scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. MUS average: 3.88

Andrew Crosby ’14

Sam Fowlkes ’14

Mike Frymire ’15

Kamar Mack ’15

Dennis Parnell ’14

James Prather ’14

Jackson Roberts ’14

Preston Roberts ’15

Christian Schneiter ’15

Will Wells ’14


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: